Meeting Dates

The Spondon Historical Society meet regularly at Spondon Village Hall for a variety talks, presentations and discussions.

Meetings are held on the 2nd Monday of each month and start at 7.30pm. Anyone is welcome to come along to the meetings with visitors paying a small admission charge. Details of our forthcoming meetings are as follows:

Monday, 8 September, 2014 Demolition of Derby, by Derek Palmer
Monday, 13 October, 2014 Letters from the Front, by Clive Tougher
Monday, 8 December, 2014 Catherine Crompton's Diaries: there is more to her story than meets the eye.
Monday, 12 January, 2015 Monks and Monasteries in Derbyshire, by Keith Blood
Monday, 9 February, 2015 Sutton Scarsdale: a classical wonder, by John Taylor
Monday, 9 March, 2015 Bolsover Castle through the ages, by Ian Morgan
Monday, 13 April, 2015 Annual General Meeting, followed byTracing your Family Tree on the Internet, by Derek Hathaway
Monday, 11 May, 2015 The Medieval Manor, by Bruce Townsend
Monday, 8 June, 2015 History of Shipley Hall, the Park and the Miller-Mundy Family, by Patrick Ashcroft
Monday, 13 July, 2015 Boarding Schools for Girls in Victorian Derbyshire, by Liz Keeley